Source: Scottish Parliament

Date: April 22, 2025

URL:

https://www.parliament.scot/chamber-and-committees/votes-and-motions/S6M-17226

ME Awareness Day 2025

-----

Submitted by: Liz Smith, Mid Scotland and Fife, Scottish Conservative

and Unionist Party.

Date lodged: Tuesday, 22 April 2025

Motion reference: S6M-17226

That the Parliament marks International ME Awareness Day 2025 on 12 May and commends ME Research UK on the occasion of 25 years since its foundation; notes that the charity is dedicated to commissioning and funding biomedical research into the causes, consequences and treatment of myalgic encephalomyelitis/chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS); believes that the disease, which affects at least 20,000 people in Scotland, is often misunderstood, mis-diagnosed and under-diagnosed, and is grievously under-researched; understands that the Perth-based charity has invested over 4.5 million pounds in research with 68 research projects globally, four PhD-level projects and a Fellowship; further understands that, in terms of projects, the Perth-based charity is the largest funder of ME/CFS outwith North America, that it presently funds projects in Australia, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Sweden, USA and the UK, and is funded entirely by individual donations, and extends its thanks for the work of ME Research UK in informing, influencing and investing in ME research globally.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Jackie Baillie, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Stephanie Callaghan, Jackson Carlaw, Finlay Carson, Foysol Choudhury, Sharon Dowey, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Tim Eagle, Annabelle Ewing, Russell Findlay, Murdo Fraser, Meghan Gallacher, Kenneth Gibson, Dr Pam Gosal MBE, Rhoda Grant, Dr Sandesh Gulhane, Clare Haughey, Craig Hoy, Liam Kerr, Stephen Kerr, Bill Kidd, Monica Lennon, Douglas Lumsden, Fulton MacGregor, Ben Macpherson, John Mason, Liam McArthur, Roz McCall, Stuart McMillan, Carol Mochan, Edward Mountain, Emma Roddick, Douglas

Ross, Alex Rowley, Colin Smyth, Alexander Stewart, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed, Sue Webber, Annie Wells, Tess White, Elena Whitham, Beatrice Wishart.

-----

(c) 2025 Scottish Parliament