Open Letter to the Standards, Procedures and Public Appointments Committee, Tuesday 25th September 2012

Following Convenor Mary Fee's call for a vote to settle, once and for all, the remit of the Cross Party Group on ME, the CPG meeting on Wednesday 19th's vote to focus on neurological ME was clear and overwhelming.

We were amazed that within 24 hours an email was circulated on behalf of Mary Fee, stating that she "and the other MSPs currently involved in the CPG" are working on "another proposal for members to vote upon."

This email refers to letting us know "which option MSPs are willing to accept for the future continuation of the CPG".

Are we really to be told which way to vote? Is that how democracy works now?

No reason has been offered by the MSPs on the CPG for seeking a second vote on this issue, or for dismissing out of hand the landslide result, which affirmed the thrust of the patient community's wishes for this to remain what it has always been - a Cross Party Group **on ME**.

This new demand flies in the face of a clear statement of need by sufferers and the precise clinical opinion of renowned experts in the field.

Our elected MSPs should now have the integrity to define exactly what they **are** willing to support and abandon the sham of a further vote.

If it turns out that they have abandoned ME as a discrete disorder, we are left with no alternative but to declare that we no longer have any confidence in Mary Fee's leadership or ability to act in the interests of those with WHO ICD-10 G93.3 ME.

Signed:

Simon Lawronco	25% ME Group	Loslov Scott
Simon	Lawree	Jam water

5		V		
Simon Lawrence	25% ME Group	•	sentative for the Young ME	
		Sufferers Trust		
Helen Brownlie	25% ME Group	Jane Giakoumakis Lanarksh	nire ME Support	
Connie Nelson	CPG Member	Andrew Gardner	CPG Member	
Bill Tipping	CPG Member	Ann (Courtney) McKenna	CPG Member	
Lorraine Murray	CPG Member	Elenor Anderson	CPG Member	
Yvonne Smith	CPG Member	lain Lee	CPG Member	
Euan MacPherson	CPG Member	Janet Graham	CPG Member	
Chris Welton	CPG Member	Martin Leckie	CPG Member	
John McKnight	CPG Member	Norma Turner	CPG Member	
Dennis Turner	CPG Member			