Source: UK House of Commons

Date: May 24, 2021

URL:

https://edm.parliament.uk/early-day-motion/58523/retirement-of-the-countess-of-mar-as-chair-of-

forwardme

Ref: http://www.me-net.combidom.com/meweb/web1.4.htm#westminster

[Early Day Motions]

Retirement of the Countess of Mar as Chair of Forward-ME

- * EDM (Early Day Motion) 90: tabled on 24 May 2021
- * Tabled in the 2021-22 session.
- * This motion has been signed by 12 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House marks the retirement of the Countess of Mar as the Founding Chair of Forward-ME; congratulates her on the success of Forward-ME which was established in 2008 to promote effective joint working between charities and organisations in order to maximise impact on behalf of people with Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (ME); acknowledges the far-reaching impact she has had in supporting, representing, and championing people with ME; recognises her work improving medical education and promoting biomedical research; notes her parliamentary advocacy which included leading a landmark House of Lords' debate on the PACE trial; commends the part she played in securing improvements to the National Institute for Health and Care draft revised guidance on ME; sincerely thanks her for her years of dedicated service to the ME patient community; and wishes the Countess of Mar the very best in her retirement.

Signatures

Sponsors

Monaghan, Carol, Scottish National Party, Signed on 21 May 2021 Fellows, Marion, Scottish National Party, Signed on 25 May 2021 Ferrier, Margaret, Independent, Signed on 25 May 2021 Shannon, Jim, Democratic Unionist Party, Signed on 25 May 2021 Thewliss, Alison, Scottish National Party, Signed on 25 May 2021

The following Members have signed to support the motion. Dorans, Allan, Scottish National Party, Signed on 25 May 2021 Hanvey, Neale, Alba Party, Signed on 26 May 2021 Stephens, Chris, Scottish National Party, Signed on 27 May 2021 Lake, Ben, Plaid Cymru, Signed on 27 May 2021 Brock, Deidre, Scottish National Party, Signed on 27 May 2021 Gwynne, Andrew, Labour, Signed on 27 May 2021

(c) 2021 UK Parliament